Donaire feted at Elorde Awards | Tempo Sports

Donaire feted at Elorde Awards

Nonito Donaire

Nonito Donaire Jr., back after his repeat victory over Vic Darchinyan, regained his status as one of the country’s top boxers of 2013 as he and a few others will be honored in the 14th Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Memorial Awards on March 25 at the Sofitel Hotel.

Donaire was a WBO superbantamweight titleholder in 2013 before losing to Cuban Guillermo Rigondeaux in April. But his move to featherweight division where he defeated Darchinyan atoned for that loss and brought him back to the limelight.

Also being honored in the Awards Night are WBO light flyweight titlist Donnie Nietes, IBF light flyweight champ Johnriel Casimero, and WBO minimumweight titleholder Merlito Sabillo.

Manny Pacquiao, who also made a big comeback in November with a 12-round unanimous decision win over Brandon Rios, has already been enshrined in the Elorde Hall of Fame.

Bruce McTavish will also be given the special Award of Distinction for international referee/ judge, as well as Michael Aldeguer, who will be receiving his Best Promoter plum for the sixth straight time.

Other awardees are Silvestre Abainza (Best Referee), lawyer Danrex Tapdasan (Best Judge), Edmund Villamor (Best Trainer), Genesis Servania (Best Promising Boxer), and the OPBF superflyweight championship between Arthur Villanueva and Marco Demencillo (Best Fight).

Posthumous Award will also be given to WBC president Jose Sulaiman and promoter Moy Lainez, while Citations will be awarded to WBO Vice President for Asia and the Pacific Leon Panoncillo, boxing judge Salven Lagumbay, former Filipino champion Young Frisco, COBRA Energy Drink, Contour, Rotary Club of Manila 101, and Sofitel Philippine Plaza Hotel.

The event is organized by the Johnny Elorde International Management and is sponsored by COBRA Energy Drink, Contour, Rotary Club Manila 101, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office, and Elorde Sports Center.