Rapid, blitz chess meets start today | Tempo Sports

Rapid, blitz chess meets start today

The country’s top players will see action in the 2013 National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championships which start today at the Philippine Sports Commission National Athletes’ Dining Hall, Rizal Memorial Sports Complex, Vito Cruz, Manila.

The two-day, nine-round Swiss System competition is organized by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) in coordination with the Philippine Sports Commission and Philippine Olympic Committee.

Grandmaster Eugene Torre will make the ceremonial moves with NCFP president Prospero “Butch” Pichay Jr. and secretary-general Rep. Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino Jr.

Open to all chess players who are NCFP members in good standing, the tournament will be divided into following categories: Open, Women and Kiddies – 14 yrs & below (born on or after January 1, 1999).

Time control will be 10 minutes plus 10 seconds increment for rapid chess, and three minutes plus 2 seconds increment for blitz chess.

International Arbiter Gene Poliarco will serve as chief arbiter while NCFP executive director GM Jayson Gonzales is the tournament director.